Department of Collegiate Education, with its inception in the year 1960, has been striving to make quality higher education affordable and accessible to all
sections of students. With a firm concern for the overall development of the students, the Department has been taking keen interest to see that students
belonging to the most backward communities, women and rural students are not deprived of the accessibility to tertiary education.

The Department manages planning, administration and funding of 412 government and 321 private aided colleges across the state with the help of six regional
offices located at  Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, Shimoga,Dharwad and Gulbarga.
DISCLAIMER: The responsibility of the content lies with
The Commissioner, Department of Collegiate Education
Bangalore - 01. Email:
Information Technology Section
Department of Collegiate Education
National Informatics Centre
© Department of Collegiate Education, Government of Karnataka, INDIA
     412 Government First Grade Colleges
     17 affiliating Universities
     6 Regional Offices,Located at Bangalore,Mysore,shimoga,managalore,Dharwad,Kalburgi
     5400 Working Faculty and 2150 Support and Administrative Staff
     3.04 lakh Total Students
1.737 lakh Girls
1.310 lakh Boys
1,49,275 Students in Arts Stream
1,14,893 Students in Commerce and Management Stream
    28650 Students in Science Stream
        625 Students in Law Stream
    11355 Students in PG Courses
     7 UG Courses with 153 Combinations of 61 Subjects
107 Arts Combinations and 30 Arts Subjects
47 science Combinations and 30 Science Subjects

      PG Courses in 10 Subjects